Wedding Thumbprint Oak Tree

Start with a pencil drawing.

The very first project that I worked on in my new craft space was our thumbprint oak tree for our wedding.  I have always wanted to draw one of these for our wedding (I LOVE trees- especially oak trees).  It was really nice working at my new craft table because I could fit my large 19×25″ paper on it without anything hanging off! I also had all of my supplies right there which is quite handy.

Drawing trees is one of my favorite things to do, so this was a lot of fun.  I used pencil on acid free Pale Yellow Canson art paper to begin with.  After I had my basic sketch of the tree, I moved on to the lettering at the bottom.  I measured out the space that I wanted our names in the the space for the date below that.  I then looked up Times New Roman font online and drew our names and date using the image search as a guide.  After the tree, our names, and the date looked perfect, I used sepia colored Micron pens to trace over the lines.  To finish it up I waited a bit for the ink to dry, then I used a large white eraser to erase any pencil lines from under the pen.

Finish with sepia colored Micron pen.

I am so excited about the oak tree!  When our guests come into the reception area they can write a few words of wisdom in our vintage guest book and give their thumbprint on our oak tree!

About allison marie.

Oh hi. My name is Allison. I am an art teacher based in Maryland. I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music. I love my dog, Moose. I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him. I like learning about new things. I find people to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

About Me.

Oh hi.

My name is Allison.

I am an art teacher based in Maryland.

I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music.

I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him.

I like learning about new things.

I find people to be interesting.

Receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 665 other followers

