Black Bean Soup

One of my go-to dinners is black bean soup.  I always mix it up a little bit, but it is always delicious!

I always start with black beans (I recommend using canned if you are in a hurry… dry bagged beans take quite some time to cook).  I usually use two cans of black beans so that I will have left overs.  I also add about a can of water to the beans once they are in the pot. I chop up baby carrots, about a quarter of a yellow onion, a clove of garlic, and maybe some potato or I use canned corn.  Like I said, it really varies depending on what I have in the fridge or pantry.  I mix all of these ingredients together in the pot along with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and chili powder (to taste).  I bring these all to a boil and let simmer for 5- 10 mins.  (If you don’t like the crunch of the small pieces of carrots, you can always boil these first before you add them to the soup to make them squishy.)

I always make corn bread to go along with the soup.  My go-to for corn bread is Jiffy (I don’t make home-made corn bread).  I was raised with Jiffy, so I of course love it!  When the soup and corn bread are both ready I spoon the soup into bowls (made by yours truely) and put some cheddar cheese on the tops of the soup.  Corn Bread gets a little bit of butter.  So Yummy!!!

About allison marie.

Oh hi. My name is Allison. I am an art teacher based in Maryland. I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music. I love my dog, Moose. I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him. I like learning about new things. I find people to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

About Me.

Oh hi.

My name is Allison.

I am an art teacher based in Maryland.

I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music.

I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him.

I like learning about new things.

I find people to be interesting.

Receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 665 other followers

