Eggplant Parm… Yum!

Giant Purple Eggplant.

A follow-up to the farmer’s market post… what to do with the giant eggplant.

I had attempted eggplant parmesan before with a smaller eggplant from Wegman’s, but I don’t think that I made it correctly (Dan liked it of course, but I didn’t).  So, I wanted to give it another shot with the eggplant from the Oakland Mills Farmer’s Market.  The eggplant was seriously giant, and it made a ton of food in the end.  I ended up making dinner for my entire family and brought it to my parents house to feed them.

When I decided to make the eggplant parm, I found a recipe from allrecipes.com and loosely used it.  Here is what I ended up doing:

Coated Eggplant Slices ready for baking.

Prepare Eggplant

– Peel and slice eggplant into 3/4 in pieces (width) and sprinkle each side with salt.

– Place paper towels onto a cookie sheet and lay a single layer of eggplant onto paper towels.

– Lay a single layer of paper towels on top of slices and press with something heavy (ie. iron skillet, heavy pan).

– Press for 20- 30 mins.

– Remove eggplant pieces and rinse with cold water, dry.

Bake the slices at 350 degrees.

Bake Eggplant

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

– Make a mixture of bread crumbs on a large plate (I used plain bread crumbs, garlic powder, salt, and italian spices).

– Coat each slice with egg (I use egg beaters), lay slices on bread crumbs and coat each side thoroughly, and place a single layer onto a greased cookie tray.

– I bake my slices for about 10 mins on each side, but they should looked a little browned when they are finished.

Eggplant Parmesan over noodles.

Parmesan 

– After removing baked slices from the oven, leave the oven at 350 degrees.

– In a glass pan (size of pan and amount of ingredients depends on how much eggplant you have), pour tomato sauce/ pasta sauce to coat bottom.

– Place single layer of baked eggplant slices on top of sauce and coat with cheese (I used a mixture of grated parmesan and mozzarella with italian spices mixed in).

– Cover with more tomato/ pasta sauce and top off with cheese mixture.

– Bake at 350 degrees for 30 mins.

– When the Eggplant Parm is done, you should be able to stick a fork into the slices easily (they should be squishy).

Yum!

ENJOY!!

About allison marie.

Oh hi. My name is Allison. I am an art teacher based in Maryland. I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music. I love my dog, Moose. I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him. I like learning about new things. I find people to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

About Me.

Oh hi.

My name is Allison.

I am an art teacher based in Maryland.

I enjoy art, ceramics, sketchbooking, dancing when no one is around, singing in the car, decorating.. and redecorating, cooking, people-watching, and random music.

I am engaged to the love of my life... I can't wait to be married to him.

I like learning about new things.

I find people to be interesting.

Receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 666 other followers

